Stuffed Shells and Pumpkin

This recipe is great. It makes 2 9×13 pans of food. That means one for baking and one for freezing. I didn’t portion my filling out properly so I ended up with uneven amounts in each dish. The recipe is from Simply Recipes. You can find it here:
http://www.simplyrecipes.com/recipes/sausage_spinach_ricotta_stuffed_pasta_shells/
I love dishes that provide enough food for left overs. I hardly have the time to cook each night of the week. We served these shells with a big loaf of crusty bread and red wine.
For dessert we had pumpkin cake with cream cheese frosting. This was a make up and see what happens kind of recipe. I was going to make banana cake, but instead of bananas I added one 15 oz. can of pumpkin. I added a variety of spices as well. The pumpkin is very dense and required more cooking time than the banana cake. The final product was a super moist cake with just the right amount of Fall spice. Look forward to the recipe in the next month or two. I’d like to test it one more time before posting. You could try the same thing with your go to banana cake/bread recipe. Simply replace the bananas, add spices and additional baking time or stare at it in the oven like I did.
Here is a recipe from Sweet Revelations. It looks almost identical to the one I made. She used a brown sugar cream cheese frosting. I used powdered sugar (aka confectioners sugar), butter, vanilla, cream cheese, a dash of Kosher salt and bigger cake pans (9 inch rounds).
http://sweetrevelations.wordpress.com/2012/09/04/brown-butter-pumpkin-layer-cake/
Leave a Reply

