Tradition

I meet this time of year with mixed emotions. I love the holiday season, but at the same time they can be very stressful.

Thanksgiving dinner never starts on time which is fine, but when there is a two hour delay the children get restless. Then we have to pack up early, give our apologies, drive an hour to get home only to realize that we forgot your purse/wallet. No bueno.

Christmas is different. There is definitely more driving on this particular holiday. There are more stops to make. And, why do I always feel guilty when I have to leave one residence to go to another? It’s like I’m betraying someone. There is also a silly little Christmas mystery in my family. It never fails. Someone will cry at or before the big Christmas dinner. It used to be awkward and I guess it still is, but at least we know it’s coming.

Leave a Reply

