Our Tree 2009 Style

Our tree is up and it’s glorious! Instead of dragging out the giant box of ornaments, I picked out a few of my favorites and used candy canes to fill in the rest. Um, hello! Talk about easy! When it is time to take down the tree, clean up will be a cinch. Not only does the tree look great, but it tastes great too.

This year our tree is decorated in colored lights. Can I tell you how happy this makes me? I know, I know… a lot of people out there find colored lights tacky. I, on the other hand, do not. I love them!! Multicolored lights remind me of Christmas when I was a kid.  I want this Christmas to feel like it did when I was a kid. No stress. Only the anticipated joy of Christmas morning.

5 responses to “Our Tree 2009 Style

  1. Gammypie, I feel the same way. That’s why a few years back we took the plunge and sprung for a prelit Christmas tree. Makes putting it up and taking it down so much easier!
    As far as colored lights, don’t forget that it’s your Christmas tree, not anyone else’s. Decorate it the way you want!

  2. I’m all about the popcorn-string decorations… they never actually make it on the tree, but they sure are delicious 🙂

  3. I can’t do a big tree because Maxine is an ornament eater – the glass ones, too. But, I usually do a three foot tree to stand on the bar where she can’t get it. I have a lot of tiny ornaments. I just haven’t gotten inspired yet, though.

  4. Carlos loves our ornaments. He doesn’t eat them, but once knocked off of the tree Duff is all over them. Glass and all.

    We have delicate ornaments at the top of the tree and candy canes in their plastic wrapping on the rest. You’d be surprised how well those candy canes hook on and hold tight to the limbs.

Leave a Reply

