Buttermilk Pie

It’s probably my favorite comfort food/dessert. It goes perfect with my morning coffee. It makes a great afternoon snack and tastes splendid after dinner. I guess this goes without saying. I made buttermilk pie on Saturday. Oh how I love me some buttermilk pie. Now that it’s almost gone I have a new dilemma on my hands. What am I to do with a half gallon of buttermilk?? First to be made is another buttermilk pie. Next, I’m thinking Ranch dressing, buttermilk mashed potatoes, but what else? I need some sweet ideas.

5 responses to “Buttermilk Pie

  1. Yum. I don’t think I’ve ever actually had buttermilk pie!

    Hmm… maybe pancakes? Or biscuits?

  2. I was gonna vote for pancakes.

  3. Also, what’s buttermilk pie? I don’t think I’ve ever heard of that one.

  4. You can marinate chicken for frying overnight in buttermilk. I’ve heard it really tenderizes the chicken, but I haven’t tried it yet.

  5. All great ideas! Pancakes for sure this weekend. If only I had more time in the mornings during the work week. Hmpf. . .

    Buttermilk pie is simply butter, sugar, eggs, buttermilk, vanilla and flour. I have always added nutmeg to mine. That’s what my great great grandmother had written down. Occasionally, I add Grand Marnier or orange zest, lemon juice, amaretto, etc…

Leave a Reply

