Big Hit

Guys, the chili was a huge hit. I doubled the recipe (Bobby Flay’s Red Beef Chili) and made a few additions/subtractions of my own. I didn’t have Thai bird peppers or pasilla chile powder so I added more of the other chile flavors in their place. I omitted the habanero and tripled up on the jalapenos. I feared the habanero would light our guests mouths on fire. I now know that the habanero would have been just fine. I added additional poblano peppers which I roasted and peeled as well as Worcestershire sauce, Chipotle peppers in adobo, extra tomatoes and tomato paste. I set out Frito’s, cilantro, diced onion, sour cream, extra sharp cheddar cheese and diced tomatoes for garnish.

In addition to the chili we had  grilled Hebrew National all beef dogs, a lovely green salad with corkscrew pasta, corn on the cob, Rotel dip (of course!), peanut butter cookies and assorted flavors of Braum’s ice cream. I made a last minute punch for those that wanted an alternative to beer and what not.

Fuzzy Navel Punch

1 bottle Ginger Ale

1 sm. can crushed pineapple in juice

1 can Bacardi Fuzzy Navel

2/3 cup lg. can of pineapple juice

Combine and serve over ice.

As for the key lime pie? I ran out of time. Dang it. I knew I should have made that one the night before.

4 responses to “Big Hit

  1. No booze in the punch?

  2. You could add either rum or vodka. Now that I think about, spiced rum would have been fabulous. I set aside a bit of the ‘virgin’ punch for a few of the girls. Too bad we ended up using their portion to make more of the good stuff.

  3. Just a little venting here…. I’m on my third cup of coffee and my paper still hasn’t been delivered. I guess that is what I get for taking the paper one day a week.

    Ha! Back when I was in junior high I subscribed to my own paper. I was so sick and tired of sharing it with my three brothers.

  4. Too funny! Hubbard is a freak for the newspaper, too. When we were much younger, we’d be out at 3:00 in the morning and Hubbard would go get both papers before we went home.

    Why am I not surprised that you’re a first day of the Fair girl!? Did you have fun? We had a blast!

Leave a Reply

