My birthday kinda sucked

Yesterday was my 31st birthday. Instead of taking a day off in the middle of the week, I decided to take off on Friday for a long weekend. What a big mistake! Big! I was all excited about going to work and hearing, “Happy Birthday!” Nope, nada, zilch. Instead, the world was broken and somehow it was my fault and I had to fix it. Yeah! Work can be so much fun. My birthday started with me crying at my desk. Other than my husband and my Mom, no one said a word to me about my birthday.

Poor M. I really wanted this purse that I saw on-line. M got it for me. The crappy thing is that it’s not very pretty in-person. In fact, it looks like a giant green alligator with straps. When I mean giant, I’m talking about a 500 lb. amphibian. It says that it is real leather, but I’m beginning to wonder. What’s worse is that he got it on sale. The website clearly states that all sales are final. Boo! I can’t tell M that I don’t like it. He was so proud of his surprise purchase. At least I’ll be noticeable in a crowd. Look for an awkward alligator slung over my shoulder. Yep, that’s me.

0031

Maybe it will grow on me.

We celebrated with a mini dinner at Chili’s. I ordered ‘off menu’. I know. I’m so cool. I wanted a fish sandwich. Believe it or not, they made one just for me and it was great. Mind you, this is Chili’s we’re talking about. Good, but not 5 star dining. The best part about the meal was going down memory lane. M and I used to walk over to Chili’s at least once a week  a few years ago for happy hour. It felt just like that last night.

My real birthday dinner is this weekend. I am having two. One at Javier’s and the other is a home cooked meal at my Mom’s with the fam. This weekend should make up for such a crappy birthday yesterday. Off to work now. I only hope that today is better than yesterday. I keep hinting at M that I want to be a stay-at-home wife. He laughs out loud every time that I mention it.

9 responses to “My birthday kinda sucked

  1. So sorry your birthday sucked! My suggestion: tote a flask full of Tito’s in that giant amphibian all week 🙂

  2. Eddie G’s right. You can be the most popular girl in your school because you can sneak an entire bar into all the BYOB places!

  3. Happy belated birthday!
    And don’t forget to have some sinful dessert with your booze; although I wouldn’t put the dessert into the purse as that would be very squishy.

  4. That is some kind of purse! I had to go to jury duty yesterday. Pretty yucky. At least it wasn’t my birthday.

  5. The purse is growing on me. Funny thing. I got two bottles of wine from my boss today. They fit perfectly in my new purse with plenty of room to add more.

    A mobile bar. What a concept.

  6. @ Food Czar & Gammypie:

    I like you.

    A lot.

    🙂

  7. Ohh Happy Belated birthday.

    Have a tequila shot at Javier’s for me.

  8. I’m so sorry your b-day sucked! The purse looks cute in the photo, if not in real life. Love the orange lining.

    Have fun at your birthday dinner x 2 this weekend. Javier’s…mmmmm. I could drink their salsa with a straw.

  9. Victoria, if you only knew what tequila does to me. I can tell you that next day reports usually have me swallowing watermelons.

    Margaritas keep me out of jail. Shots, not so much. Ha!

Leave a Reply

