Banana Nut Bread again

005

I baked this first thing this morning. Whenever I have extra ripe bananas on hand there is only one thing that comes to mind. Banana nut bread. As you can see, I did not waste any time getting a piece. I have a stick of softened salted butter out on the counter to slather on whenever I get the urge to have another piece. I could make icing, but softened butter is my compliment of choice.

Banana Nut Bread

 

2/3 cups softened butter                                                    1/3 cup buttermilk

2 ½ cups sifted flour                                                           2 eggs

1 2/3 sugar                                                                            ½ cup chopped walnuts

1 ¼ tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp vanilla extract

3 ripe bananas (mashed)

1/3 cup buttermilk

 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray a 9 x 13 inch baking pan with non-stick cooking spray.

Mix ingredients from the column on the left in a large bowl. Then add ingredients from the column on the right and mix..

 Pour into the prepared pan. Bake 30 to 40 minutes.

While I was baking away this little guy was catching some shut eye.

008

He’s pretty cute even if he does wake me up constantly throughout the night for some good lovin. Carlos sure loves to get his purr on.

I’m off to the grocery store. We are in need of something for dinner tonight other than pizza. This is a rarity in our house seeing as we live for Saturday Night Pizza. Not tonight. We are officially pizza’d out. I’m thinking of a nice stir fry. We’ll see what tickles my fancy at the grocery store. I tend to get inspired by the produce section.

5 responses to “Banana Nut Bread again

  1. Gammypie, don’t you wind that when guests come over, they always try to sneak out with Carlos tucked under their shirt? This happens all the time with our cat Stirling (on the rare occasions she makes appearances in front of guests)!

  2. Sorry. Make that “don’t you find”. I need an editor!

  3. Carlos has no shame. He’ll jump into any willing lap.

  4. Look at that cute baby. He has such a pretty coat. What did you end up making?

  5. I whipped up a quick stir fry. Nothing fancy. We focused most of our appetite on wine.

Leave a Reply

