Hummus with Roasted Red Peppers and Kalamata Olives

Adapted from Cosmic Cafe.0061

2 cans chickpeas

1 cup extra virgin olive oil

1/3 cup tahini

Juice from one large lemon

Zest of one lemon

½ cup pitted Kalamata olives, chopped

¼ cup Kalamata olive juice

2 roasted red peppers, seeded and chopped

½ bunch cilantro, stemmed and chopped

1 tsp salt

2 tsp paprika

1 tsp red pepper flakes

½ tsp pepper

 

Combine all in a food processor except for the olive oil. Slowly drizzle olive oil into the mixture with the processor running. Refrigerate overnight for flavors to combine.

8 responses to “Hummus with Roasted Red Peppers and Kalamata Olives

  1. I LOVE roasted red pepper hummus! Do you eat yours with pita chips, warm pita slices, or crackers?

  2. Pita chips, carrots, as a topping for salads, sides, etc… I pretty much find anything I can and top it with hummus. Last night I topped an English muffin with some. Yum!

  3. I guessing it’s wonderful, huh?

  4. I’ve been putting it on anything and everything.

  5. The hummus looks delicious! I forget how easy it is to make a batch (and yet I’m still paying $5/tub for the stuff…).

    Thanks for the recipe!

  6. That looks SO good! I’m like you–I’ll slap hummus on anything…and I’m not at all embarrassed to lick the bowl 🙂

  7. Wowza! I love me some hummus…but with fresh roasted red peppers…absolute favorite! I swear I can smell it from your pic!!!

    Gotta make some this weekend. Mind if I copycat?

  8. Be my guest. I’m making another batch for our big family Sunday dinner. Mom has made an official request.

Leave a Reply

