Books for the New Year

I love starting the new year with loads of books. It’s like having a giant trunk full of secret treasures. When I’m done exploring one treasure, I am on to the next.

I stated reading The Road by Cormac McCarthy yesterday. He’s the author of No Country for Old Men. I have yet to read that one, but have seen the movie (very good). I only started The Road yesterday and I am already very near to the end. This is an amazing piece of literary genius. I woke several times throughout the night with visions of isolation, silence and darkness. I could not keep this father and his son out of my head. Their relationship is quite extraordinary. This is an excellent read. Do check it out.

Now, I’m wondering what to read next. My amazon shipment is due today, but after reading The Road I am not quite sure anything in my shipment will compare.

I would love you suggestions. What is everyone reading now?

4 responses to “Books for the New Year

  1. We listened to The Road audiobook on our way to SC for Christmas. I’m excited about the movie coming out as well (Christian Bale!).

    Right now I’m reading The Hour I First Believed by Wally Lamb. It’s kind of heavy but definitely worth checking out.

  2. Thanks Heather! I’ll check that one out.

  3. Damn. Now I want to read that.

    I’m reading Edgar Sawtelle right now.

  4. Marie, what is that book about?

Leave a Reply

