Back in the Swing of Things

Tomorrw I return to work and I’m looking forward to it. I am ready to get my routine back on track. M and I had a fun filled weekend with family and friends. Friday night we joined a large group at Manny’s for dinner before a night on the town. I was already one top shelf Don Julio margarita on the rocks before we sat down for dinner (feeling good). I had the sour cream chicken enchiladas and a cheese enchilada smothered in queso. The chicken enchiladas were very dry. The cream sauce was good, but not enough to save the chicken. Thank goodness the cheese enchilada was just like the one at El Fenix (perfection in my mind). I can’t remember what M had. Obviously, it wasn’t worth writing about. Manny’s is great for people watching and that’s about it. We finished the night at Liar’s Den (new place on McKinney Ave.) with more drinks and conversation. Of course, the minute M and I got home I heated up left over tamales from Luna’s. Munchies kill me every time.

Saturday, I worked out, shopped at the grocery store and bought tons of books on-line. M and I watched two movies; Joyeux Noel and Burn After Reading. Both worth renting. We topped the night off with a deep dish pie from Pastazios. Yum! I was only able to manage one piece. That pie is MASSIVE! If you order, prepare to have left overs.

As if buying books wasn’t enough, I bought another one today after reading a review in the Dallas Morning News. I plan to start that book when I take a bath tonight. I need a good soak after today’s long run. My Mom and I did a little shopping at Crate and Barrel and Lamps Plus. If you are in the market for anything that glows then head over to Lamps Plus. They are having a huge sale. My Mom got a ceiling fixture for $80 marked down from $404. Wow!

I hope everyone had a Merry Christmas. We have another big day ahead this week. Seafood gumbo is our New Year’s Day family tradition. What meals/traditions do you celebrate on the 1st of January?

2 responses to “Back in the Swing of Things

  1. New books are so exciting. I’m about to get on amazon myself… any good recommendations?

    No New Years menu yet. Black-eyed peas, of course. Other than that, no idea!

  2. Yum-cheese enchiladas. I could eat one right this second!

Leave a Reply

