Pumpkin cake II

This cake is the bomb! I was really surprised at how luscious this gem turned out. I’m keeping this one in the rotation for sure! M hasn’t tried it yet, but that’s only because we have loads of Halloween candy that his Mom gave us. How cruel. I’m tempted to throw it out. Shhh…don’t tell. This might have to be done in secret. Okay, so here is the recipe. It calls for a box of cake mix. I usually shy away from semi-homemade recipes, but I couldn’t resist.

1 (29oz) pumpkin puree
1 (12 oz) can evaporated milk
4 eggs
1 cup white sugar
2 tsp. cinnamon
½ tsp nutmeg
2 tsp. allspice
½ tsp. salt
1 (18.25 oz) package spice cake mix
1 cup butter, softened

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease a 9×13 inch baking pan.
2. In a large bowl combine all ingredients with a hand mixer until smooth.
3. Bake 45 minutes or until a knife inserted comes out clean.

I served this with heavy whipped cream seasoned with Grand Marnier and a touch of sugar. I don’t like my whipping cream too sweet. Not only was this dessert heavenly last night, but it was even better this morning with my coffee. Holy moly! I can’t keep this stuff around for too long. I snag a piece every time I go into the kitchen.

2 responses to “Pumpkin cake II

  1. this sounds delicious! i was looking for something to make really quickly and bring to work to share with my co-workers. this seems like just the thing! 🙂

  2. You can’t beat the easy part. It’s so simple and so tasty.

Leave a Reply

