Crab casserole

Once a year the ladies in my family get together for a formal luncheon. My Grandmother pulls out the fine china and shows us the many sets of sterling and china long forgotten from today’s collections. I don’t know what it is about the bouillon, but I love it. After a couple of glasses of white wine, the bouillon is served. Then, we head to the table. This really gets my appetite going. It was at one of these luncheons that I discovered one of the best seafood recipes; crab casserole.

2 lbs. jumbo lump crab meat
1 (16 oz.) can evaporated milk
2 ½ cups good quality mayonnaise
6 hard boiled eggs, chopped
4 TBS. chopped fresh parsley
2 tsp. onion flakes
1 cup Ritz cracker crumbs (reserve ½ cup)
! ¾ cups fresh white bread crumbs
¾ tsp. Old Bay seasoning
1 ½ TBS. Worcestershire sauce
1 TBS. fresh lemon juice
4 dashes Tabasco
1 small red bell pepper, chopped fine
Salt and pepper to taste

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Butter and 9×13-inch casserole dish.
2. In a large bowl, combine mayonnaise, evaporated milk, eggs, Tabasco, Worcestershire sauce, lemon juice, parsley and crab meat.
3. In a separate bowl, combine the remaining ingredients minus ½ cup Ritz crackers.
4. Gradually add the dry mixture to the crab mixture and gently combine.
5. Spread mixture into the casserole dish and top with ½ cup Ritz crackers.
6. Bake uncovered for 35 to 45 minutes.

I cut this recipe in half when it’s just M and I. I serve it with buttered angel hair pasta or white rice and whatever green veggie that I have on hand. Did I mention bread? No need to state the obvious. 

4 responses to “Crab casserole

  1. I bet this casserole really rocks! For myself, I would be tempted to change the Ritz cracker crumbs to Cheezits and put in more than a few dashes of Tabasco, but that’s just me.

  2. Oh, I love me some Tabasco!

  3. I’m going to have to it. I love stuff like this!

Leave a Reply

