Cinnamon Carrot Cake

I am the designated carrot cake baker in the family. It’s a staple at Thanksgiving dinner. My Mom and Grandmother both LOVE it, myself indluded. At the beginning of the week my Mom mentioned that she was craving my carrot cake. I took that as my queue to make one. What better to go with my coffee in the morning and for dessert at night. Oh, and as an afternoon snack. Really, I pick on it every time I walk by it.

Cake:

2 cups flour

2 TBS baking soda

1/4 cup cinnamon

2 cups sugars

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees.Grease 2 nine-inch round pans and lightly dust with flour.

Mix the above ingredients in a large bowl with a hand mixer.

In a separate bowl, combine the ingredients below.

3 cups grated carrots

1 1/2 cups vegetable oil

4 eggs

1 can of crushed pineapple in its juices

2 tsp vanilla

Pour wet ingredients into dry ingredients. Mix with hand mixer and pour into prepared pans. Bake for 30 to 40 minutes or until set.

Cream cheese icing:

1 eight-ounce package of cream cheese

1 stick of butter

1 sixteen-ounce box confectioners’ sugar

1 tsp. vanilla,

1 tsp. cinnamon

Combine all ingredients and beat until well combined with an electric mixer. Spread frosting between layers, on top and around sides.

4 responses to “Cinnamon Carrot Cake

  1. So, did Mom get any? We hardly ever make cakes. And if we do, we have to give away at least half of it. A cake is a big thing to have sitting around in a two person household.

  2. Ha! I just took some over to her. In fact, I gave her half the cake. She is going to take half of her half to my grandparents tomorrow, but not until after brunch at La Duni. Mmm…

  3. this looks/sounds incredible. and it’s so fitting for autumn! i will definitely try it 🙂

  4. Beware, it goes quickly!

Leave a Reply

